Siberian Larch cladding

Larch Cladding


Larch is a conifer tree (softwood) of the genus Larix that grows across the northern hemisphere. There are about 10 species included in the genus, but the most commonly used for cladding are: Siberian Larch (Larix sibirica) and European Larch ( Larix decidua).

Siberian Larch is considered a naturally durable timber for use in cladding applications (according to BS EN 350-2). It is also cheaper than Western Red Cedar, making it a fantastic option for resilient and sustainable natural cladding projects.

Fun fact: Even though Larches are conifer trees, they lose their needles in the autumn, making them deciduous softwoods!


Here are the main differences between commercially available larch species for cladding:

Siberian Larch (Larix sibirica)

slightly to moderately durable

straw colour with brown knots

denser than European/British Larch

available in two grades: Unsorted (fewer knots) or Sawn fallen (more knots),

longer lengths


European Larch / British Larch Larix decidua)

consistent pale pink colour with dark knots 

slightly to moderately durable


Siberian larch
Siberian Larch cladding Exeter Flood Defence's sheet piling

Ecochoice delivers Larch cladding directly to your project's site in a range of profiles, including shiplap, TGV, tongue-and-groove and many others

cladding profiles by Ecochoice
Siberian Larch louvres
Siberian Larch louvres